Grants & Awards

ASGE Honorary Awards: Recognition for Outstanding Contributions

Call for Nominations

Help us celebrate our profession by nominating yourself or another member for an ASGE Award. Please submit this form along with accompanying materials to James Janssen at

Please consider the following ASGE diversity statement when making your nomination:
ASGE values and recognizes the importance of embracing diversity and its impact on strengthening our members’ ability to provide excellent care to all patient populations, regardless of their background. The Society is committed to enhancing diversity by educating and training culturally competent gastroenterologists, as well as providing leadership opportunities to all members regardless of gender, age, religion, racial/ethnic group, sexual orientation, and disability status.

Nominations will be accepted until October 28, 2022. If you have questions, please contact James Janssen at 630.570.5620 or

Awards and Criteria

Rudolf Schindler Award

ASGE’s highest honor is granted to a member whose accomplishments in endoscopic research, teaching, and/or service to ASGE exemplify the standards and traditions of Rudolf Schindler, MD, founder of the American Gastroscopic Club, the forerunner of ASGE.

Distinguished Educator Award

This award recognizes the contributions of physician educators and their involvement with trainee education, development, or participation in endoscopy seminars or courses, published scholarly reviews, or published educational materials.

Distinguished Service Award

This honor is presented to an individual who has made long-term contributions to GI endoscopy and is a strong supporter of the mission of the Society.

Master Endoscopist Award

This award recognizes clinicians who spend the majority of their time in patient care and are recognized regionally or nationally for their expertise and contributions to the practice of GI endoscopy.

Distinguished Endoscopic Research Mentoring Award

This award recognizes outstanding career achievement by endoscopic research mentors who have devoted substantial time and effort to develop and nurture the next generation of endoscopic investigators.

International Service Award

This distinguished honor is presented to an international member who has served in a significant way to advance the mission of the Society in the international community.

Industry Service Award

This award recognizes an individual whose work within industry exemplifies the values of ASGE and has made a positive impact on ASGE membership, patient care, and the practice of endoscopy through education, training, research, technological advancements,or other activities.

View a list of past honorary recipients

Download  the Honorary Awards flyer and nomination form  


  1. Download and complete the Honorary Awards flyer and nomination form
  2. Return to ASGE by October 28, 2022

To nominate yourself or another member for an ASGE Award, please include with the nomination form:

  1. Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae or resume
  2. Primary nominating letter describing the nominee’s accomplishments in endoscopy and a summary of relevant activities, ensuring the nominee met awards criteria
  3. One additional supporting letter from colleagues who can address the longitudinal contributions of the nominee (Rudolf Schindler Award nominations require two additional supporting letters)

All nominations must be received by October 28, 2022.
Please submit nomination to James Janssen at:


Mail:     ASGE Awards Committee, Attn: James Janssen
             American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy
             3300 Woodcreek Drive
             Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

Fax:      630-963-8607, Attn: James Janssen

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact James Janssen at 630.570.5620 or