Maintenance of Certification

What is MOC?

  • 4-part process designed to engage physicians in continuous, lifelong learning (*required for all physicians initially certified after 1990)
  • MOC promotes lifelong learning and the enhancement of the clinical judgment and skills essential for high quality patient care
  • ABIM reports if physicians are "Meeting MOC Requirements"

On February 3, 2015 the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) sent communications to all of its diplomates and collaborating medical specialty societies issuing an apology for problems with its Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. This came in response to the months of frustration following the roll-out of the new MOC program in January 2014. In addition to the apology, the ABIM has made some immediate changes to the program and is promising continued reform based on feedback it is receiving from diplomates and societies. But of course along with these changes and promises for the future, has come even more confusion. So here we will try to clarify what has changed and what hasn’t.

What changed?

  • Effective immediately, the requirement for Practice Assessment (Part IV) has been suspended for at least two years. This means that no diplomate will have his or her status changed for not having completed these activities for the next two years. Diplomates who are currently not certified because they hadn’t completed this component will be issued a new certificate this year if they satisfied all other requirements. 
  • Effective immediately, the “Patient Safety” and “Patient Voice” requirements are also suspended for at least two years.
  • Within the next six months, the web reporting language will state “participating in MOC” instead of “meeting MOC requirements.”

MOC Requirements

  • Every 2 Years: Some MOC Activity
    Complete at least one MOC activity every two years to be reported as participating in MOC.
  • Every 5 Years: 100 MOC Points
    To be reported as certified, you must earn 100 points every five years (the points you earn every two years count towards your 100 points).
  • Every 10 Years: Board Exam
    Pass the MOC exam in your specialty within 10 years of when you last passed it.

    Since the ABIM are making these changes in real time, we encourage you to continually check the ABIM’s website for the most up-to-date information:

    How do you know if you are enrolled?

    To find out whether you are enrolled in MOC, log in to If you are not enrolled, the website will prompt you to enroll after you log on. If you are enrolled, your enrollment status will be listed on your home page under the MOC section.