The ASGE Golden Scope


This event is sponsored by:

CONGRATULATIONS AND BRAVO to the 66 GI Fellow Teams who participated in round one of the ASGE’s 2023 Golden Scope! 

ASGE is excited we had so many participants from around the world and thoroughly enjoyed monitoring the shifting leaderboard throughout the week. We’re proud of all of you! We hope you enjoyed the competition, camaraderie and the education that took place.

Below are the Top Twelve Teams (10 U.S. and 2 International) advancing to the semi-finals in August 2023!

Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
Training Director: Milena Gould Suarez
Team Captain: Nathaniel Spezia-Lindner (1st Year Fellow)
Teammates: Ashwin Rao (1st Year Fellow) and Gabriel Sandoval (1st Year Fellow)

Johns Hopkins University Hospital
Baltimore, MD

Training Director: Tinsay Woreta
Team Captain: Sameer Khan (1st Year Fellow)
Teammates: Kavin Kanthasamy (2nd Year Fellow) and Divya Rayapati (1st Year Fellow)

John H. Stroger
Chicago, IL

Training Director: B. Attar
Team Captain: Victor Udechukwu (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammates: Hassam Shah (2nd Year Fellow) and Lanxin Li (1st Year Fellow)

King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Center
Saudi Arabia

Training Director: Abdulelah Almutairdi
Team Captain: Ibrahim Alomer (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammates: Asma Alnajjar (2nd Year Fellow) and Hind Almuhaya (1st Year Fellow)

MetroHealth Medical Center, Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH

Training Director: Marc Landsman
Team Captain: Shaman Dalal (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammates: Achintya Singh (1st Year Fellow) and Neil Patel (1st Fellow Year)

Oncology Institute
Francisco Gentil, Portugal

Training Director: Isabel Claro
Team Captain: Luís Correia Gomes (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammates: Margarida Saraiva (1st Year Fellow) and Daniel Conceição (2nd Year Fellow)

University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
Los Angeles, CA

Training Director: Lin Chang
Team Captain: Devin Patel (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammates: Camille Soroudi (2nd Year Fellow) and Wendi LeBrett (2nd Year Fellow)

University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
Iowa City, IA

Training Director: Adrian Holm
Team Captain: Estefania Flores (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammates: Ahmed Elkafrawy (2nd Year Fellow) and Gilles Hoilat (1st Year Fellow)

University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City, MO

Training Director: Wendell Clarkston
Team Captain: Mir Zulqarnain (1st Year Fellow)
Teammate: Adel Muhanna (1st Year Fellow)

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC

Training Director: Millie Long
Team Captain: Gabrielle Ritaccio (1st Year Fellow)
Teammates: Ryan Balko (2nd Year Fellow) and Alicia Muratore (1st Year Fellow)

UMass Medical School (UMMS)-Baystate
Springfield, MA

Training Director: David Desilets
Team Captain: Kamesh Gupta (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammate: Kevin Groudan (1st Fellow Year)

West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV

Training Director: Justin Kupec
Team Captain: Mohamed Zitun (2nd Year Fellow)
Teammates: Monica Chowdhry (2nd Year Fellow) and Muhammad Waleed (1st Year Fellow)

Semi-Finals & Finals (Live at ASGE IT&T, Downers Grove, Illinois on August 18-19)

The 12 Golden Scope semi-final teams will compete in a live competition at ASGE’s Institute for Training & Technology Center (IT&T) in Downers Grove, Illinois on Friday, August 18 – Saturday, August 19. This competition will include a mixture of game play and hands-on challenges.

The results of the semi-final competition will be announced at a reception that will take place at ASGE IT&T on Friday, August 18 – and the top three teams will advance to a final, Jeopardy-style championship round that will take place at ASGE IT&T on Saturday, August 19.

Members of every team can participate in the ASGE Senior Fellows Program at IT&T on August 19-20 for free.


The top three teams will receive the following cash prizes that the program’s training director can distribute as they see fit:

  • 1st Place – $5,000
  • 2nd Place – $2,500
  • 3rd Place – $1,250

In addition, the members of every semi-final team and their training director will receive unlimited and complimentary access to ASGE’s online learning platform, GI Leap, for one year.  

Plus, the members of every semi-final team will receive a stipend to cover their airfare and other transportation costs, including lodging for two nights at the Marriott Suites Downers Grove.


Contact Michelle Thomas at with questions about ASGE’s 2023 Golden Scope competition.

2022 Golden Scope Winners

ASGE 2022 Golden Scope 1st Place Augusta University
1st Place: Augusta University
ASGE 2022 Golden Scope 2nd Place Mayo Clinic
2nd Place: Mayo Clinic
ASGE 2022 Golden Scope 3rd Place University of Iowa
3rd Place: University of Iowa